Visual Studio Test Professional Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Mohamed Sadek
Real User
Lead DevOps and Release Engineer-L2 at ITWORX
Aug 20 2019

What is most valuable?

There are many valuable features, including the integration between the management data and the test cases. You have the ability to link them with the requirements and user stories. You also have the ability to track the running of the test cases and the reporting of the results of each test case… more»

What needs improvement?

The service right now is far too expensive. You need to pay per user. The solution needs more reports and more dashboards as well as more details for each originated spare test case or best guess in test cases. There are still some issues in the results. There is an extension integrated with the… more»

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

For the cloud services option, you buy a subscription per account or per user. This costs around $52 a month per person.

What other advice do I have?

We are using the cloud deployment model, on Azure cloud services as well as an on-premises deployment model. We have around 100 quality engineers that we eventually want to get on the system. To do this, we need to apply a test specific license for using and testing the modules in a real case or in… more»
GhamdanAl-Anesi
Real User
Member of the Board & Co-Founder, Executive Manager at Networld Systems
Oct 08 2019

What is most valuable?

Code testing is the most valuable feature of this solution for developing software. The unit testing functionality is very helpful.

What needs improvement?

I would like to see better integration with the main product, Visual Studio. The tools for unit testing can be improved, giving a better ability to manage tests. I would like to see more plugins. Enhancing the support for web application… more»

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Prior to this solution, we used third-party tools. Once we used this solution it was much better because of the higher level of integration with the main product, as well as the overall code management.

What other advice do I have?

My advice to anybody researching this solution is that this tool is a must. It is very helpful for testing code. It will end up costing them less than what they are paying with third-party applications, partly because of the integration… more»

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We did not evaluate other options. This solution was released while we were using third-party tools, and once that happened we knew that we had to use it because of the integration.
Find out what your peers are saying about Microsoft, Katalon Studio, Micro Focus and others in Functional Testing Tools. Updated: March 2020.
408,459 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Vaishali-Aggarwal
Real User
Counselor at a healthcare company with 10,001+ employees
Dec 19 2019

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features are the SSIS reports, the deployment models, and the ability to interact with other Microsoft tools.

What needs improvement?

The stability of this solution needs to be improved because sometimes it hangs and crashes. The speed at which deployment can be done has room for improvement. The support documentation that is available on the Microsoft website should be… more»

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I have used previous versions of Microsoft Visual Test Studio including the 2010 and 2008 editions. I switched to the 2015 version because of the new features.

What other advice do I have?

I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

I was also considering Alteryx but I chose this solution because of the cost.
Istvan Zsikla
Real User
Assistance Engineer at a transportation company with 501-1,000 employees
Dec 05 2019

What is most valuable?

The main interface is very user-friendly. The system overall is very useable. If you have to start a new project or new area, the system and the tutorial are great.

What needs improvement?

The database administration could be better; it would be nice if we could do every design related task also in Visual Studio what is possible in SQL Server Management Studio.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

If you are buying the solution, it's quite pricey. They also offer a community version, which is a good approach.

What other advice do I have?

At the start, many years ago, it was not the best solution, but now it is the best in a technical development environment. The solution is installed directly onto PCs. We're using the 2017 version; the last few years the solution hasn't changed too much. I'd rate the solution ten out of ten. It's my… more»
RameshVelusamy
Real User
Programmer at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Jan 07 2020

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the in-built support for C# and .NET projects. Most of our clients are using C# and .NET and they prefer to use Visual Studio for automating.

What needs improvement?

We would like to be able to easily integrate this solution with our continuous integration tools, such as Jenkins. We are having trouble that necessitates entering the identification properties of objects manually.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

In addition to Visual Studio Test Processional, I used Selenium Java and Selenium C#. I also use products by SmartBear.

What other advice do I have?

We are only using test scripts, which involves a minimal number of the features that are provided. We have also recommended this solution to some of our clients. I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.
Consultant
Senior Business Intelligence Consultant at a software R&D company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Nov 27 2019

What is most valuable?

The interface is user-friendly.

What needs improvement?

I particularly use some templates around BI that are called SQL servers, data, and tools, and they are an extension to Visual Studio. Some of them are like integration services that would benefit from some improvements, but I think Microsoft has other things that they might want to improve first. I… more»

What other advice do I have?

It is a very good solution and on a scale from one to ten, I will rate it a nine. In the next release I would like to see better data flow.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

I know that for Java or for other programs like Python, you can use multiple development tools or client tools. But in Microsoft's case, I've never heard of someone using anything else than Visual Studio Test Professional.
Vendor
Systems Engineer at a manufacturing company with 10,001+ employees
Feb 13 2020

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features are tools like IntelliSense and ReSharper. The running of unit tests in the background is helpful.

What needs improvement?

The integration with Git needs improving because it is a bit disjointed and unpredictable. The diagrammatic representation of the database in the entity framework is helpful but it seems to have been removed.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I think that the pricing is quite good.

What other advice do I have?

Visual Studio is a good solution that I would recommend. My only complaints are about the Git integration and the removal of the diagrammatic representation of the database from the entity framework. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Consultant
Managing Consultant at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Feb 06 2020

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features are integration, support, and ease of use. Performance-wise, it is a great tool. The documentation from Microsoft is quite good.

What needs improvement?

The pricing of this solution should be lowered.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We have experience with other testing tools but the choice of product is dependant on the project and the requirements given by the customer.

What other advice do I have?

Feature-wise, I think that this product is good enough. It is a solution that I would recommend, provided that it actually meets the requirements for the project. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About Visual Studio Test Professional

Find out what your peers are saying about Microsoft, Katalon Studio, Micro Focus and others in Functional Testing Tools. Updated: March 2020.
408,459 professionals have used our research since 2012.

Visual Studio Test Professional Questions

What is Visual Studio Test Professional?

Visual Studio Professional Edition provides an IDE for all supported development languages. As of Visual Studio 2010, the Standard edition was dropped. MSDN support is available as MSDN Essentials or the full MSDN library depending on licensing. It supports XML and XSLT editing, and can create deployment packages that only use ClickOnce and MSI. It includes tools like Server Explorer and integration with Microsoft SQL Server also. Windows Mobile development support was included in Visual Studio 2005 Standard, however, with Visual Studio 2008, it is only available in Professional and higher editions. Windows Phone 7 development support was added to all editions in Visual Studio 2010. Development for Windows Mobile is no longer supported in Visual Studio 2010; it is superseded by Windows Phone 7.
Visual Studio Test Professional customers
Transport for Greater Manchester, Ordina, Bluegarden A/S, CLEAResult, Jet.com, OSIsoft, Australian Taxation Office, BookedOut, Tracasa