AlgoSec Overview

AlgoSec is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Firewall Security Management tools. It is most often compared to Tufin: AlgoSec vs Tufin

What is AlgoSec?

The leading provider of business-driven network security management solutions, AlgoSec helps the world’s largest organizations align security with their mission-critical business processes. With AlgoSec, users can discover, map and migrate business application connectivity, proactively analyze risk from the business perspective, tie cyber-attacks to business processes and intelligently automate network security changes with zero touch – across their cloud, SDN and on-premise networks. Over 1,800 enterprises, including 20 of the Fortune 50, utilize AlgoSec’s solutions to make their organizations more agile, more secure and more compliant – all the time. Since 2005, AlgoSec has shown its commitment to customer satisfaction with the industry’s only money-back guarantee.

AlgoSec Buyer's Guide

Download the AlgoSec Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

AlgoSec Customers

NASDAQ, Oracle, T-Mobile, Chevron, AT&T, BP, Intel, Skype, Microsoft, Volkswagen

AlgoSec Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about AlgoSec pricing:
  • "The pricing for this solution is not cheap, but we get good value for what we pay."
  • "It seems we have recovered our money on this appliance, so it is money well spent."
  • "When it comes to the cost of support and licensing, it is much cheaper than other competing products."
  • "Cost is based on firewall. There are bundles, e.g., virtual firewalls might make the solution cheaper."
  • "The licensing scheme should be done in a simpler way. For example, if we delete a firewall and want to add a new one, then the license doesn't get freed up automatically. You have to request a new license to customer support and install it. If you are testing new implementations, this can be cumbersome."
  • "The licensing is very easy to set up, with flexible licensing methods such as subscription and perpetual."
  • "The initial cost was high for us."

AlgoSec Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer1098015
Network Security Engineer/Architect at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 8, 2020
Excellent for firewall policy auditing and firewall policy automation

What is our primary use case?

We've been using Algosec as our reference tool to clean our policies from old unused rules and objects and to assess rules that are categorized as risky so that we can fix those risks. Firewall Analyzer from Algosec is our main tool for Firewall auditing and it makes our external auditors very confident on the way our policies are managed. Fireflow from Algosec also helps us identifying which firewalls are on the way from source to destination when we need to open flows and it saves us a lot of time. We are still on our path to implement full automation of firewall policy creation with… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "It now takes less than half of the time it took before we had this tool to deploy the flows requested by the business."
  • "We would like to see more features in the GUI so that we don't have to work with the API as extensively."

What other advice do I have?

We recommend trying fully automation in a controlled environment before widely deploying it to the production firewalls. It's important to gain confidence on the product.
Sergi
Service Delivery Manager at Schneider Electric
Real User
Feb 6, 2020
Increases security and efficiency by more directly involving the end-user

What is our primary use case?

The AlgoSec solution is really helpful for us, as we need to review all of the rules that have been implemented or we intend to implement, everywhere in our organization, independent of the country or even region. With AlgoSec, it is possible to check the risks for each rule in terms of security and it is possible to easily decide if the implementation is valid or risky. This allows us to keep only the rules that are following our internal security standards. AlgoSec helps to keep order and improve efficiency for operations teams supporting the solution.

Pros and Cons

  • "We can easily and quickly identify all of the rules on the firewall and avoid the individual review and analysis of each rule."
  • "It would be easier if the network maps could be updated using the GUI portal instead of from the OS."

What other advice do I have?

It is clear that it is difficult to have the perfect tool with all that you need. As we expect, it is not an ideal world. AlgoSec is, in general, doing fine. Today, this tool is very stable and permits us to improve the efficiency of the day to day work by our technical teams. It also allows the end-user to be more directly involved in the requests, highly reducing the time between the request and the final implementation. The only advice or remark I can add here is what concerns me with the network maps. This is the cause of what makes the initial setup harder than expected. The reason is…
Learn what your peers think about AlgoSec. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
455,536 professionals have used our research since 2012.
NetAdm81724
Network Administrator at City of Calgary
User
Jan 16, 2020
Helpful Auditing and Management tool that integrates well with other products

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for Firewall Rule Management, to know who did what and why. We use AlgoSec FireFlow to create Rules for the Firewalls with detailed information. It is used by end-users who supply the requirements for which this rule is needed, and then it goes to Security for approval. We use AlgoSec Firewall Analyzer to get the audit reports on the firewall and to verify that change, which was approved by the Security and Network teams, is implemented in the right way. It is a great tool for audit purposes. Also it tells us if our firewall is compliance with PCI or not. We use this for… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "This Appliance gives you the full Network MAP, which is obtainable from the Routing table."
  • "It seems that AlgoSec created a VSYS (Virtual system) for each virtual router name, even though our firewall has only a single VSYS."

What other advice do I have?

My advice is to go with this product. It is easy to set up and use. It has great features and very good technical support to back it. So far, we find ourselves below limitations on this appliance with the version we are currently running. Overall, this is a Great security management product with good automation options to help your security teams function.
Amit Gumber
Senior Manager at HCL Technologies
Real User
Apr 30, 2020
During extreme load in business hours, it works well without any issues

What is our primary use case?

We are using Firewall Analyzer (AFA) to compare configurations from multiple firewalls, such as Cisco ASA, Palo Alto, Check Point, and so on. It helps us to streamline our firewall rules, identify risks, and provide better visibility. This product has significantly saved the time and human efforts in creating and deploying firewall rules. It is now easier for our cybersecurity team to analyze firewalls rules and ACLs, using them in a more efficient manner. Other features are also very important for us.

Pros and Cons

  • "It helps us to streamline our firewall rules, identify risks, and provide better visibility. This product has significantly saved the time and human efforts in creating and deploying firewall rules. It is now easier for our cybersecurity team to analyze firewalls rules and ACLs, using them in a more efficient manner."
  • "We are running multiple hybrid cloud solutions, working with cloud providers, and looking for API integrations with cloud and related interoperability. Sometimes, when we are trying to delete or disable any rule, it takes more time than expected."

What other advice do I have?

Excellent product to use and has tremendous support from OEM. We have not faced many problems or issues using this product. We also have not tested AI or ML capabilities and are very keen to start working with it now. Overall, it is well-maintained, robust platform tool for firewall management.
Ricardo Fernandes
Resp. Area de Segurança at REN
Real User
Top 5
Apr 22, 2020
AlgoBot checks if rules already exist or finds out easily where they need to be configured

What is our primary use case?

Our main use cases for this solution are: * Firewall Rule optimization * Topology mapping of various firewalls * Automating the implementation of rules. * Reports warning before time based rules expire. We also implemented the AlgoBot, which is extremely useful when checking if rules already exist or finding out easily where they need to be configured. We have 20-plus firewalls from multi-vendors in several sites, both IT and OT. Therefore, an automated way to manage firewalls is a must, especially since staff is always on the short side.

Pros and Cons

  • "AlgoBot is a brilliantly, simple idea that lets us give our IT internal customers a way to check if rules are already in place before asking for more."
  • "The license rekeying needed for when you need to change a firewall usually takes a bit of time."
Riyas Mohammed
User
Reseller
Top 10
May 9, 2019
Helps to analyze risks, optimize the rules and policies, and improves performance in network security devices

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use cases for this solution are: * Business Security and Automation * Faster change management solution * Network Security device analyzing and optimization

Pros and Cons

  • "It assists in provisioning the application rapidly, which increases the organization's revenue."
  • "This product could be improved in several ways including more device support, an automated rollback process and options in active push, software-defined WAN integration and support, and application-aware policy identification and optimization."

What other advice do I have?

This solution is very useful for any type of organization with multiple network security devices such as firewalls, routers, etc, and have the goal of achieving business security and automation. AlgoSec has main three components that can be purchased in different phases if required. They are: * AFA: AlgoSec Firewall Analyzer * AFF: AlgoSec FireFlow * ABF: AlgoSec BusinessFlow
reviewer1175712
User at a energy/utilities company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Aug 29, 2019
Alerts when a risky rule is created help us to maintain compliance

What is our primary use case?

We utilize this solution to manage policies for our firewalls. At first, we used it to keep a record of our policies: Who changed something, when, and whether the policy is allowed or not. We now use it to map our traffic flows and to flag a policy that is not allowed by the criteria we have set for our different types of firewalls. We used it initially to go through all of our policies on over 800 firewalls, to organize the policies and map out our policy flows to certain zones. That enabled us to know how to structure our policies. We spent a year going through our firewall policies to clean… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "We are moving towards an automated environment so the ability to work with Ansible, ServiceNow, and Palo Alto gives us the ability to automate our firewall policy creation. And it does so in a manner where we do not have to worry about a policy being created that may put our organization at risk."
  • "Support for Layer 7 policies, including User-ID and threat profiles with Palo Alto firewalls, has been a pain point from us. We would like to include the additional info specifically because we believe it changes the riskiness of the rule if it is only set for a specific user or a group of users."

What other advice do I have?

This solution will help you significantly with compliance, the part of your job that may not be your favorite.
Jeffrey Cherpeski
MITP-2 at State of Nevada Department of Administration Message
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Apr 22, 2020
Traffic queries help when troubleshooting a problem, especially if the traffic goes through two or more firewalls

What is our primary use case?

I am the senior network security engineer in an environment of more than 80 firewalls ranging from ASA 5506-X to ASA 5585-X and now to FortiGate 3960E. As part of this position, I need to be able to audit firewalls and ensure that they are compliant to a number of policies. Before AlgoSec, this was done in a very long, slow manual process, and it took days to audit even the smallest firewall. With AlgoSec, I can run a compliance report and see exactly where that firewall falls short.

Pros and Cons

  • "Traffic queries are a great help when troubleshooting a problem, especially if the traffic is going through two or more firewalls."
  • "The initial cost was high for us, but we have always been behind the tech curve and cost has always been the limiting factor."

What other advice do I have?

It has saved my bacon a number of times and is a great arrow to have in your quiver of tools.
See 62 more AlgoSec Reviews