AlgoSec Overview

AlgoSec is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Firewall Security Management tools. It is most often compared to Tufin: AlgoSec vs Tufin

What is AlgoSec?

The leading provider of business-driven network security management solutions, AlgoSec helps the world’s largest organizations align security with their mission-critical business processes. With AlgoSec, users can discover, map and migrate business application connectivity, proactively analyze risk from the business perspective, tie cyber-attacks to business processes and intelligently automate network security changes with zero touch – across their cloud, SDN and on-premise networks. Over 1,800 enterprises, including 20 of the Fortune 50, utilize AlgoSec’s solutions to make their organizations more agile, more secure and more compliant – all the time. Since 2005, AlgoSec has shown its commitment to customer satisfaction with the industry’s only money-back guarantee.

AlgoSec Buyer's Guide

Download the AlgoSec Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

AlgoSec Customers

NASDAQ, Oracle, T-Mobile, Chevron, AT&T, BP, Intel, Skype, Microsoft, Volkswagen

AlgoSec Video

AlgoSec Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Zach Sloneker
IT Security Analyst at The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.
Real User
Nov 7, 2018
Our firewall governance group uses the AFA tool to gather object and rule usage on a recurring basis for recertification as well as research and design of new firewall rule changes.

What is our primary use case?

AlgoSec's Firewall Analyzer tool for rule usage and recertification. Our firewall governance group uses the AFA tool to gather object and rule usage on a recurring basis for recertification as well as research and design of new firewall rule changes.

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend investing the time in a full project to implement the AlgoSec suite if you will be using more than just the Analyzer piece. Fireflow and Business flow would benefit from dedicated standup time and effort to achieve the best results.
Abasi WInt
Security Engineer at Genuine Parts Company
Real User
Oct 31, 2018
The feature I find most valuable is Change Detection email notifications. We are able to track real-time changes made.

What is our primary use case?

The primary use of this appliance is for Firewall maintenance and monitoring. Firewalls are a critical component in all organizations. As engineers, we are tasked with more responsibilities. You want to efficiently manage your time and devices, AlgoSec helps tremendously with that.

What other advice do I have?

No additional comments.
Learn what your peers think about AlgoSec. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
455,108 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Robert Silvia
Senior Security Analyst at The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.
User
Oct 23, 2018
We use it to assist in processing firewall changes, clean up unused rules and objects, and perform rule re-certifications.

What is our primary use case?

* We use the Firewall Analyzer extensively to manage our firewall security policies. * We use it to assist in processing firewall changes, clean up unused rules and objects, and perform rule re-certifications.
David Ord
User at Enbridge Gas
User
Oct 23, 2018
Currently, the primary use is log analysis as we are migrating from Check Point to Palo Alto and need to purge the unused rules during migration.

What is our primary use case?

I have a North American wide multi-site network with a large amount, 100+ primary firewalls and hundreds of remote firewalls. We have loaded into AlgoSec most of these via CheckPoint CMA and Palo Alto Panorama. Currently, the primary use is log analysis as we are migrating from CP to PA and need to purge the unused rules during migration.
Mark DeLongchamp
Global Network Security Engineer at General Motors
Real User
Oct 23, 2018
It easily scaled up to support our hundreds of firewalls.

What is our primary use case?

Provides visibility to firewall policies. Single tool to engineer changes and track approvals for audit compliance.

What other advice do I have?

The tool is very flexible. Be sure to allocate sufficient resources to deploy & customize it.
reviewer947805
User at a insurance company with 1,001-5,000 employees
User
Oct 23, 2018
It helped us clear out almost half the work by identifying the rules automatically with no manual work.

What is our primary use case?

We have been using AlgoSec mainly to review/filter duplicate firewall rules and policies.
reviewer946827
User at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
User
Oct 23, 2018
We recently moved our data center to a new location and we migrated our firewalls from one vendor to a different vendor. AlgoSec helped us tremendously to clean up shadow rules, unused objects.

What is our primary use case?

We have a big environment consisting of around 100 firewalls with a combination of different vendors. We use AlgoSec Firewall Analyzer to analyze our firewall rules from different vendors and importantly for our firewall optimization project.

What other advice do I have?

It's simply great, keep going.
AJC-2000
Security Consultant at Total System Services, Inc.
User
Oct 23, 2018
It has simplified rule optimisation and compliance.

What is our primary use case?

My organisation has used Firewall Analyser for many years to simplify and automate rule set management across an estate of hundreds of Checkpoint firewalls. Key functionality provided covers compliance reporting and identification of duplicate and unused, as well as risky rules.
Thiago Bujnowski, PMP
Defensive Security Leader at Stone Pagamentos
Real User
Top 20
Oct 22, 2018
Providing reports and security improvements added value to the services provided to our customers

What is our primary use case?

Implemented in a Managed Security Service Provider and had every managed customer firewalls integrated as part of the service. The tops were used to generate baseline reports and compliance views suiting all kinds of businesses.

What other advice do I have?

It's not a solution to install and forget. To bring out the best of its value you must always keep generating reports and applying corrections. It's a great tool to have especially if you have too many juniors operators.
Marco Murillo
Presales Manager at SEFISA
User
Jul 3, 2018
FireFlow helped with documenting all the processes in our rule implementations

What is our primary use case?

Check Point platform with over 14 clusters. 

How has it helped my organization?

It is very useful for PCI DSS compliance.  FireFlow has been a winning product, as it helped with documenting all the processes in our rule implementations.

What is most valuable?

Rule optimization is one of the features that we have used the most, as firewalls were running for a while with no prior process rules created for them and no follow up being done.

What needs improvement?

The reporting could be a bit better.  FireFlow was a bit tricky to configure with its customized flows. Maybe the latest release will resolve this.

For how long have I used the solution?

Three to five years.

How was the initial setup?

Deployment was fairly easy. There were no…
reviewer877923
Account Director
User
Jun 20, 2018
FireFlow continues to drive customer efficiencies, allowing an organisation to keep up with the pace of change

What is our primary use case?

The majority of customer use cases are around rule optimisation, workflow management, and risk/compliance.

Pros and Cons

  • "We see the value of BusinessFlow for organisations involved in digital transformation projects migrating to public/private/hybrid cloud models."
  • "FireFlow continues to drive customer efficiencies, allowing an organisation to keep up with the pace of change."
  • "Further integration with ACI and NSX will be key to our customers' requirements moving forward, as customers adopt new, innovative environments."
WingPoon
Global Network Solution Architech at AXA Tech
Real User
Jun 20, 2018
Ensures global policies are applied to all regional firewalls. Needs support for its cloud-based solution.

What is our primary use case?

We use it for global firewall rules management to ensure global policies are applied to all regional firewalls, provide auditing and compliance.

Pros and Cons

  • "We use it for global firewall rules management to ensure global policies are applied to all regional firewalls, provide auditing and compliance."
  • "It needs better API integration with its third-party firewall management."
  • "It needs support for its cloud-based solution."
it_user877515
Sr Firewall Engineer at a tech consulting company with 1,001-5,000 employees
User
Jun 5, 2018
The PCI compliance feature has been helpful in preparing for audits

What is our primary use case?

I work at a multi-vendor firewall environment. AlgoSec is primarily used to see what firewall policies are in place, as well as PCI compliance levels.

How has it helped my organization?

AlgoSec has helped us save time by having one central location to view firewall policies, especially when crossing multiple vendors.

What is most valuable?

The PCI compliance feature has been helpful in preparing for audits. The Firewall Analyzer has been very helpful.

What needs improvement?

We are still waiting to implement FireFlow, and getting it into place will hopefully speed up our implementation time and help with policy standardization. There have been some difficulties in getting this portion set up in our environment.

For how long have I used the

it_user872862
Security and Network Consultant at a tech vendor with 51-200 employees
Consultant
May 23, 2018
Gives control and visibility to end users

What is our primary use case?

Orchestrating a big network environment with 2600 Layer 3 devices for different brands. The environment spans several hundreds locations across all continents.

Pros and Cons

  • "It gives control and visibility to the end users."
  • "It lowers the burden of the security department."
  • "The initial setup was extremely complex due to our large environment."
  • "The HA solution is not good."
  • "Needs better integration between modules and also a better troubleshooting methodology."
it_user871845
Information Security Professional at NTT Security
MSP
May 13, 2018
AFA has helped us to spot risky rules, overlapping rules and helps prioritize remediation efforts.

What is our primary use case?

Firewall Analyzer (AFA) to analyze configs from production firewalls of various types.

How has it helped my organization?

AFA has helped us to spot risky rules, overlapping rules and helps prioritize remediation efforts. We have a variety of firewalls and look forward to expanding services such as FireFlow.

What is most valuable?

In AFA, the ability to trend rule usage and drill into traffic seen hitting that rule is powerful for cleanup of overly permissive rules.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No issues with stability.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No issues with scalability.

How are customer service and technical support?

it_user866376
Senior Network Security Engineer at Prudential Corporation Asia
Real User
May 3, 2018
Helps with application connectivity and our users are able to documents their rules

What is our primary use case?

* ABF application centric * Risk and compliance * Zone matrix * Conditional workflow * IPT * Active change

Pros and Cons

  • "ABF is application-centric. which helps to track changes in the application from day one."
  • "We needs object level permissions and application level recertifications."
it_user827928
Network Support
User
Apr 23, 2018
The technical services personnel are very confident and provide good assistance

What needs improvement?

The product could be improved by adding additional tools for troubleshooting, not only for the firewall, but for other devices like switch and dynamic routing display. Also, it would be good if it could retrieve all information regarding Cisco Nexus switches and devices. It would be interesting if the product could automate the switch configuration and create a dynamic map of the entire network.

For how long have I used the solution?

Three to five years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

In the VMware platform, sometimes the application is frozen and we have to reload the machine.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Not at all.

How are customer service and technical support?

The technical services personnel…
it_user859881
Director of Cybersecurity
User
Apr 22, 2018
It has the ability to create architectures improving performance and reducing costs

What is our primary use case?

To down level firewall care so context owners and operations can be more agile in their day-to-day operations. It improves audibility and security by having instant access to firewall configurations. It has the ability to create architectures improving performance, reducing costs and KPIs.

Pros and Cons

  • "I like the auto-mapping features and configuration overview. We use this for many things, but primarily for quick reactions to security events, audit, project management, and quick operational efficiencies."
  • "It improves audibility and security by having instant access to firewall configurations."
  • "It has the ability to create architectures improving performance and reducing costs."

    What other advice do I have?

    Overall, the product is very good for firewall insights.
    it_user859899
    VP Global Cyber Security Operations at NTT Security
    MSP
    Apr 22, 2018
    Unused rules, hidden rules, and dangerous combinations of rules are easily found and tracked

    What is our primary use case?

    Since approximately 2005, I have used AlgoSec in almost all of the companies that I have worked at. AlgoSec Firewall Analyzer (AFA) continues to be my favorite product, as well as the core of other AlgoSec products. My teams use AFA to validate firewall (FW) changes, see hidden and complex rules, identify dangerous combinations of rules across many enterprise firewall situations, and enable a risk-based approach to firewall rules and associated risk management.

    Pros and Cons

    • "Unused rules, hidden rules, and dangerous combinations of rules are easily found and tracked by using AlgoSec."
    • "AlgoSec is able to provide a consistent view into all of an organization's firewalls, regardless if the management is done by different companies."
    • "I would like to see continued expansion to other firewall versions, platforms, and vendors."
    STALIN PAULRAJ
    Manager - Network Service Delivery (IP & Security) at Prudential Corporation Asia at Prudential Corporation Asia
    Real User
    Apr 22, 2018
    The compliance module provides full visibility of the risk required in firewall change requests

    What is our primary use case?

    ABF and compliance modules.

    Pros and Cons

    • "AlgoSec contributes more in the security space for our company, especially in automatically ​finding the high risk and medium risk rules instead of manually reviewing over a few thousand rules."
    • "ABF is a wonderful module where you can keep the footprint for your firewall rules up-to-date, like CMDB."
    • "The Compliance module is one of the best features which can help anyone to perform security review with predefined security matrix configurations. The compliance module can save a lot of time for security reviews and provide full visibility of the risk required in firewall change requests."
    • "ABF is not very mature compare to AFA and AFF, but the module and concepts are quite good. I would suggest more concentration on ABF, especially on object and application permissions."
    it_user829395
    Senior Software Engineer at a energy/utilities company with 10,001+ employees
    User
    Mar 4, 2018
    Able to monitor all firewalls under one umbrella. ​Needs better technical support.

    What is our primary use case?

    To be able to monitor all firewalls under one umbrella. It makes it easy for customer to get their reports.

    Pros and Cons

    • "Setup is easy. ​Just run the script and all seems fine."
    • "Auditors can get PDF or CSV reports without having to give them access to firewalls."
    • "To be able to monitor all firewalls under one umbrella."
    • "​Needs better technical support and quicker response times.​"
    • "Having the ability to patch an issue as oppose to upgrading the entire suite."
    it_user818688
    User at a insurance company with 10,001+ employees
    User
    Feb 15, 2018
    We have reduced the attack surface of risky rules, improved our compliance scores, and streamlined our firewall change flow

    What is our primary use case?

    Our primary use case started as policy optimization in a multi-vendor firewall environment. Now, our primary use case is giving access to firewall policies for development teams and infrastructure specialists. We are receiving better change requests based on actual requirements and less requests for access which already exists.

    Pros and Cons

    • "We have reduced the attack surface of risky rules, improved our compliance scores, and streamlined our firewall change flow all thanks to AlgoSec Firewall Analyzer."
    • "​R&D patches to address issues that I have encountered have been timely and effective.​"
    • "The Flash to HTML5 rewrite has been bumpy."
    it_user818859
    User with 1,001-5,000 employees
    User
    Feb 14, 2018
    We are able to quickly review 100's of firewalls and stay compliant.

    What is our primary use case?

    Firewall and Compliance. We use the product to support the firewall review process and risk of over 400 firewalls
    it_user810882
    Programme Manager
    User
    Feb 14, 2018
    It is used for change management and to intercept dangerous changes to firewall rules.

    What is our primary use case?

    I mainly use AlgoSec for policy change management and to intercept dangerous changes to firewall rules.

    How has it helped my organization?

    In the past, policy changes were applied, but not always with the correct approval. Because of this, we ended up with huge holes in the rule base.

    What is most valuable?

    Multi-vendor feature in a multi-vendor environment is a must. Ensures changes adhere to internal and regulatory standards.

    What needs improvement?

    Today, we don't dare push the new policy automatically, We don't have confidence in this feature.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    One to three years.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    No.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    Yes, Tufin.
    it_user813339
    Engineer
    User
    Feb 6, 2018
    We can easily make our firewall flow change requests using the web interface

    How has it helped my organization?

    Centrally manage firewall flow requests Approval/implementation and validation We can easily make our firewall flow change requests using the web interface.

    What needs improvement?

    It would be great if the product could be more simplified when defining the rules. Documentation could be added to the tools, then generate documentation and send it to the relevant people.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    More than five years.
    it_user813291
    Networks and Security Engineer
    User
    Feb 6, 2018
    Users utilize this tool to make their change requests

    What is our primary use case?

    Workflow: Users utilize this tool to make their change requests, then once it is approved by a security team assessment, the network team will implement the changes. Troubleshooting: Tracks the flow and sees where it is blocked.

    What needs improvement?

    Automate the change documentation in MS Word format. Therefore, we can customize it, if needed.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    More than five years.
    it_user808863
    Expert Tehnique securité réseau at a pharma/biotech company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Feb 6, 2018
    When we add firewall change requests, it decreases the time for design and implementation significantly

    What is our primary use case?

    This solution was implemented to provide risk analyse, audit on rules, and changes, as well as giving visibility to the application or project manager on firewall rules that are linked to their servers for a massive datacenter migration.

    Pros and Cons

    • "It permits us to save a lot of time and make some firewall policy clean up. Then, when we add firewall change requests to management through this tool, it decreases the time for design and implementation significantly."
    • "The Firewall Analyser feature is the most important and valuable part of this tool. This provides quick and simple visibility on the firewall's risk assessment."
    • "Default standard support at Level 1 is to answer by upgrading to the latest released version, if you are not using it yet."
    • "Improve the dashboarding capability for FireFlow which is currently very limited in terms of presentation and customisation."
    it_user808449
    Extranet Architect with 1,001-5,000 employees
    User
    Feb 6, 2018
    It has streamlined our process for access and firewall management

    What is our primary use case?

    We use AlgoSec FireFlow and AFA modules for risk analysis, audit, and change management to enforce appropriate security compliance.

    Pros and Cons

    • "AFA provides project teams with a simplified way to obtain the status on their current rule set."
    • "It has streamlined our process for access and firewall management."
    • "Needs integration to cloud ITSM tools, such ServiceNow."
    • "Be able to automatically analyze application traffic with machine learning capabilities and propose simplification for rule set optimization."
    it_user284391
    Senior Network Security Specialist at a tech vendor with 10,001+ employees
    MSP
    Aug 24, 2017
    We now have baseline and rules checking.

    What is most valuable?

    Templates For baselines PCI-DSS

    How has it helped my organization?

    We now have baseline and rules checking.

    What needs improvement?

    It would be nice if it was more variable when checking virtual domain baseline in the same way as Fortigate's firewalls do.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used it for one and a half years.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    We had issues with the clusters.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It's slow to synchronize a database that is not synchronized.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: It's good. Technical Support: It's good.

    Which solution did

    it_user502071
    Network Technical Security at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Feb 18, 2017
    Traffic simulation queries identify all firewalls involved in the path between a source and a destination on a given service.

    What other advice do I have?

    This product only supports L3 devices such as Cisco IOS and Cisco Nexus, so if your primary network is based on a different technology, AFA wouldn’t be the best choice.
    it_user494916
    Network Security Engineer at a financial services firm with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Vendor
    Feb 1, 2017
    The FireFlow feature stops users from overriding policies.

    What other advice do I have?

    It is a good product to use.
    it_user454551
    Cyber Security/ Network Intelligence Professional at EliteVAD
    Consultant
    Dec 8, 2016
    ALGOSEC - Automate Firewall Security Policy Orchestration

    What other advice do I have?

    AlgoSec is a business-driven security management solution, a comprehensive and visionary solution which covers what needs to be covered in firewall security visibility, security change management, and application-security connectivity. AlgoSec as a platform fills the gaps between the otherwise disconnected teams - Security, Network and Applications - within an organization.
    it_user552438
    Technical Consultant at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Consultant
    Nov 22, 2016
    By leveraging BusinessFlow/FireFlow/ActiveChange we have been able to reduce the time from initial requirements gathering to implementation of complex firewall designs.

    What is most valuable?

    We were immediately able to leverage the workflow tools in FireFlow with ActiveChange to speed up our deployment of firewall policies.

    How has it helped my organization?

    By leveraging BusinessFlow/FireFlow/ActiveChange we have been able to reduce the time from initial requirements gathering to implementation of complex firewall designs by approximately 80% without compromising our security posture. 

    What needs improvement?

    Additional understanding of complex routing in multiple systems.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have had this working in our production environment for about 6 months.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    The initial deployment was unsuccessful as the product had not initially support our use of…
    it_user540387
    Information Security Consultant at a tech company with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Nov 21, 2016
    It detects dangerous rules that affect security. I would like an architecture diagram that combines intelligence from all integrated firewalls.

    What other advice do I have?

    Prior planning is required for licensing and appliance handling if the company is looking to introduce new firewalls/security devices. This tool even integrates Cisco products to track changes on core switch or primary routers/VPNs.
    it_user506337
    Security Consultant at Securelink
    Consultant
    Nov 13, 2016
    We took advantage of the the system's ability to add intelligence in all stages of a change.
    Good and bad experience - A case study of the use of AlgoSec FireFlow. The Good: ·         Cut turnaround time on firewall rule changes from weeks to days. ·         Improved network visibility via policy discovery, map and traffic simulations. ·         Increased accuracy of firewall changes with improved network security. ·         Highly improved traceability and accountability in the firewall change process. ·         It is easy to customise AlgoSec FireFlow to a quality system. The Bad: ·         Lots…
    it_user541044
    User at a financial services firm with 501-1,000 employees
    Vendor
    Nov 2, 2016
    Reduces time and costs of firewall change management, risk mitigation, and compliance audits.

    What other advice do I have?

    AlgoSec is very helpful for our organization.
    it_user541047
    User at a government
    Vendor
    Nov 2, 2016
    We like the ​rule optimization and risk analysis. It should support IPS devices.

    What is most valuable?

    Rule optimization Risk analysis

    How has it helped my organization?

    Saves time and labor cost in optimizing and operating our firewall system.

    What needs improvement?

    Find duplicate objects in different firewalls.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    3 years

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    Mainly with log collection.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    No issues.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    None.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: Good. Technical Support: Good.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    No.

    How was the initial setup?

    Simple to setup.

    What about the implementation team?

    Via a vendor team. They…
    it_user540339
    Security Specialist with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Oct 31, 2016
    It has improved the way we handle risky rules on firewalls.

    What is most valuable?

    Policy management.

    How has it helped my organization?

    It has improved the way we handle risky rules on firewalls. Security Firewall Policy; Firewall Performance; Firewall Hardening.

    What needs improvement?

    The Tighten Permissive Rules Function could be better, we need more specific information about source, destination and service on the rule we will handle.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    About 1 year.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    Nope.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Nope.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Nope.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: They have replied fast to all my concerns. Technical Support: Excellent.

    Which

    it_user494103
    Information Security Analyst, Team Lead Network Security Assesment at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Oct 26, 2016
    It has helped us manage PCIDSS compliance.

    What other advice do I have?

    It’s a good buy for simplifying large networks.
    it_user456096
    Network Engineer at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Aug 31, 2016
    Implementation of new rules without the need for manual configuration of rules on all firewalls in the traffic path has been good for us.

    What other advice do I have?

    It's an amazing product for those admins who have huge variety of firewall vendors and would like to be able to automate the implementation of new firewall rules for access across the network.
    it_user495018
    Sr. IT Security Engineer at a pharma/biotech company with 10,001+ employees
    Vendor
    Aug 31, 2016
    We use it to clean up unused objects. The risk team uses it to validate existing traffic flow.

    Valuable Features

    Firewall rule monitoring Consolidated report on unused objects and rules

    Improvements to My Organization

    We use this tool for rule monitoring and cleaning up the unused objects to improve performance. The risk team uses this tool to validate the existing traffic flow for their approval.

    Room for Improvement

    It is currently unable to export the report to a CSV file, and I look forward to seeing it in the next version/release.

    Use of Solution

    I have used it for more than four years.

    Deployment Issues

    Deployment was very easy; the vendor-provided documentation was good.

    Customer Service and Technical Support

    Technical support is 8/10.

    Implementation Team

    I was able to implement it on my own.

    Other Advice

    It's a very useful product and I highly…
    it_user497694
    Network Security Engineer at a aerospace/defense firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Aug 31, 2016
    It provides policy optimization reports, is easy to install on your own, and runs smoothly.

    What other advice do I have?

    Just try it and you’ll see where the problems are in your firewall. You can easily request trial licenses.
    it_user494187
    Security and Network Architect at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Consultant
    Aug 31, 2016
    For FireFlow, workflow customization and active change are the best features. Interaction with a lot of vendors results in a lot of options and bugs.

    What other advice do I have?

    Offer me a job. ;) I will help you set it up. More seriously, test it with caution through a POC to be sure that all your architecture specifics are addressed. If not all of them are addressed, ask for a commitment regarding support of missing features and ask for those commitments to be written down before ordering.
    it_user502044
    Senior IT Security Consultant at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Aug 25, 2016
    Valuable features include FireFlow, traffic simulation and the network map.

    Valuable Features:

    * Network map - to see how firewalls and routers are connected. * Traffic simulation - to emulate traffic through the rule-base and see if you need to open additional ports/services. * FireFlow - to order new firewall openings.

    Improvements to My Organization:

    * Less overhead on the network security department since the user can verify the rules themselves. * Risk profiles helps find disallowed traffic. * Policy cleanup feature is really good for removing unused rules, etc.

    Room for Improvement:

    * More unified UI

    Use of Solution:

    Since 2013
    it_user457512
    Information Security Manager at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Jun 16, 2016
    You can observe risk trends, regulatory and baseline compliance, as well as live changes and change history.

    What is most valuable?

    AlgoSec AFA provides visibility and enhancement opportunities on the firewalls. You can observe risk trends, regulatory and baseline compliance, as well as live changes and change history.

    How has it helped my organization?

    AlgoSec improved our firewall visibility and related control points.

    What needs improvement?

    Needs continuous improvements in all areas since firewall vendors are improving their products and the IT security industry is definitely improving itself.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    3 years

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    Deployment is easy, no issues at all.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No issues so far.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer…
    it_user369891
    Security Architect at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Jan 17, 2016
    We like the ability to review and understand your firewall topology, run reports and have the ability for practitioners and auditors to review our security posture.

    What other advice do I have?

    It's head and shoulders above all the competitors in the field. They're the ones pushing the boundaries of the market.
    Mark Rizal Thalib
    Freelance System Security Consultant at a consultancy
    Consultant
    Dec 22, 2015
    It can really optimise configuring firewall policy rules.

    What other advice do I have?

    Be patient and careful when doing the initial configuration of the firewall with AFA, but after the process is completed, everything has to run smoothly. An example screenshot of network mapping results from AFA. Network mapping can be useful also to detect if there is a connection network traffic is interrupted and can assist in documenting the topology that is owned. The following screenshot shows an example of the policy rules that need to optimized, so you can improve the performance of firewall and its security level. The following screenshot shows the result of scanning AFA reports that…
    it_user302103
    Network Security Engineer at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Consultant
    Aug 30, 2015
    It provides us with a trail of changes, and the Audits For The Firewalls Are Now Straightforward.

    What is most valuable?

    It provides us with a trail of changes. It also has an optimization advisor.

    How has it helped my organization?

    The audits for the firewalls are now straightforward.

    What needs improvement?

    The regulatory compliance rules.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using it since March 2015, and I'm responsible for the deployment and administration of it.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: It's very good, nothing to complain about. Technical Support: It's excellent,…
    it_user300489
    Network Engineer at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Consultant
    Aug 27, 2015
    It's a very flexible product, and you can make the most from the available features on the box.

    What is most valuable?

    Audit reports Firewall rule optimization

    How has it helped my organization?

    There are hundreds of firewall administrators, and each one of them creates rules. Optimizing these rules and being able to make them more logical is a key feature of AlgoSec.

    What needs improvement?

    The reporting features need to be improved.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used it for one year.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    We did encounter an issue with integrating it with the firewall, but we then found that the firewall was the culprit not AlgoSec.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We need to carefully plan scaling AlgoSec. …
    it_user290457
    Security Analyst - ISO 27001 at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Consultant
    Aug 7, 2015
    The change management is valuable, but the server database size can cause some internet slowness

    What is most valuable?

    Firewall analyzer Change management system

    How has it helped my organization?

    Change management system 3D view of your firewall configuration Tool intelligence, highly useful for information security Design point-of-view

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used it for two years.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    I wasn't involved in the deployment; I just use it as a firewall engineer.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Sometimes due to server database size, the disk gets exhausted and then there is slowness over the internet.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: I haven't been involved with contacting AlgoSec. Technical Support: I haven't been involved with…
    it_user270741
    Information Security Engineer at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Consultant
    Aug 4, 2015
    It provides some good nifty features which ultimately yields better optimization of firewall policies.

    What other advice do I have?

    No other products were evaluated.
    it_user281946
    Network Design/Network Security Administrator at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Jul 30, 2015
    It has made implementing regulatory requirements like PCI DSS and ISO easier. It makes me more security aware.

    What is most valuable?

    Firewall analyzer Fireflow

    How has it helped my organization?

    It has made implementing regulatory requirements like PCI DSS and ISO easier. It makes me more security aware.

    What needs improvement?

    It would be nice to have it integrate with the existing change management portal.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used it for one year.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: It's good. Technical Support: It's good.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    it_user272901
    Network Administrator at a computer software company with 501-1,000 employees
    Vendor
    Jul 15, 2015
    It's Helped Optimize Our Firewall Configuration And Eased Our Troubleshooting.

    Valuable Features:

    Analyzer Fireflow Business flow

    Improvements to My Organization:

    It's helped optimize our firewall configuration and eased our troubleshooting.

    Room for Improvement:

    The reporting feature needs work.

    Use of Solution:

    I've used it for six months.

    Scalability Issues:

    It's expensive to get new licenses.

    Initial Setup:

    It was straightforward.

    Implementation Team:

    We used a vendor team who were 9/10.

    Cost and Licensing Advice:

    It is expensive, but it's worth it.

    Other Solutions Considered:

    I tested Firemon which is great, the only problems were the lack of a web GUI interface and our Apple clients couldn’t connect to it. We also looked at ManageEngine.

    Other Advice:

    Go ahead if you can afford it!
    it_user268725
    Sênior Network Security Administrator at a government with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Jul 9, 2015
    The product has helped us improve our firewall policies. It's also helped me to make decisions on best practices.

    What is most valuable?

    The reporting feature.

    How has it helped my organization?

    The product has helped us improve our firewall policies. It's also helped me to make decisions on best practices.

    What needs improvement?

    The product needs improvement in all areas, but I don't use the product deep enough to say anything more specific.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used it for one year and six months.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    No issues encountered.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We've not needed to scale it.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: 8/10. Technical Support: 10/10.

    Which solution