ITRS Geneos Overview

ITRS Geneos is the #7 ranked solution in our list of APM tools. It is most often compared to Splunk: ITRS Geneos vs Splunk

What is ITRS Geneos?

ITRS Geneos is a real-time monitoring tool for managing increasingly complex and interconnected IT estates. Built for financial services and trading organisations, it collects a multitude of data relating to the performance of servers, infrastructure, connectivity and applications, analyses it to provide fresh information, and presents it in relevant, intuitive visualisations. For more information, please visit: https://www.itrsgroup.com/

ITRS Geneos is also known as Geneos.

ITRS Geneos Buyer's Guide

Download the ITRS Geneos Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

ITRS Geneos Customers

ITRS Geneos is used by over 170 financial institutions, including JPMorgan, HSBC, RBS, Deutsche Bank and Goldman Sachs. Clients range from investment banks to exchanges and brokers.

ITRS Geneos Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about ITRS Geneos pricing:
  • "Pricing is the touchy subject, even here. Upper management always wants us to find a cheaper solution. But we have so much integrated with ITRS... It's expensive, but it does its job very well. And you set it and go."
  • "The licensing cost may seem expensive upfront. However, the service is outstanding, the tool does things that no other tools can do, and the customizability more than makes up for the cost of licensing."
  • "It is expensive. They have to look at the model around when we move to cloud and how that's going to work. The licensing cost does pay off because of the improvements in support to our business."

ITRS Geneos Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer1348830
Senior Enterprise Management Administrator at a financial services firm with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Top 5
May 17, 2020
Enabled us to consolidate all our monitoring applications, allowing our NOC to see everything more clearly

What is our primary use case?

We use it to monitor all our production servers, our UAT servers, as well as all the trading applications that are running on them. Additionally, we use some of the other features to monitor some of the network equipment via SNMP. Our NOC is watching the screens I created for them using the Geneos dashboards and the Event Ticker. They open cases for specific teams, depending on where the alert is coming from. It gets routed to the correct group and they resolve the issue. For the most part, our applications are fixed protocol trading applications. We have a host of products and they're all… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The filtering in the Active Console is exceptional. Depending on the user base, some people don't want to see server-level errors, so we have filters set up in the Managed Entities view, which allow us to filter out things that certain groups don't want to see, while allowing them to see other things. It's a great real-time monitoring solution. And you can draw graphs immediately, right from the Active Console, whether they're current graphs or historical graphs."
  • "They have the Webslinger solution where you can see when something is alerting. It's a little bit cumbersome."

What other advice do I have?

Follow the standards that ITRS provides. Their support is second to none and they will always guide you in the right direction. At any given time we have at least 20 users connected to all the gateways, and that's not everybody because we're a global company. It's when the offices are open that people connect to it. They are the NOC users. They're all in Manila and they watch the screens and make sure if anything is alarming that a ticket is opened for the correct group. We have some of our system engineers who are looking at it for server-level errors. We also have production engineers who…
Sanket Wartikar
Senior Manager - Trading Systems Support
Real User
Top 20
Apr 10, 2019
Dashboards enable us to monitor critical trading systems, application servers, networks switches, and software

What is our primary use case?

We are monitoring uptime, availability, and performance of the trading systems through the ITRS dashboards. We have five segments and we have created all the applications and dashboards for these segments. We are monitoring online and have created a separate, integrated monitoring room where we have installed all the Geneos dashboard screens and we have a separate group of people monitoring these tools. In case of any alerts, there are mechanisms for escalation. Currently, we have not only provided dashboards to IT operations, but we have provided them to other departments as well. For… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "It enables us to monitor application processes, to do log-monitoring on a 24/7 basis, to do server-level monitoring - all the hardware parameters - as well as monitor connectivity across applications to the interfaces."
  • "Sometimes, if there is a lot of data coming onto the servers, we have observed a little bit of slowness on the gateway servers which are doing the ITRS dashboard monitoring."

What other advice do I have?

It's a very good tool to use and everybody is very happy with it. We are looking forward to more features. Not all the data that is being captured is currently being stored completely in the right ITRS dashboards. There is a project in progress for collecting the data and storing it for capacity and numbers purposes. We have seen a demo related to data collection for capacity planning and it looks very useful, as do the capacity reports. But that project is still in the roll-out phase and will take a couple of months. The next feature we are looking at rolling out is the integration with the…
Learn what your peers think about ITRS Geneos. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: February 2021.
465,339 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Caleb Bond
E Business Systems Consultant at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Consultant
Top 5
May 13, 2020
Enables us to build visibility across a very large portfolio of applications rapidly and consolidate the views

What is our primary use case?

The solution is being used in the treasury management space, specifically to monitor the health of the technology estate. At this point, we have built out infrastructure monitoring as well as things like log monitoring and process monitoring; all those basics. The main use case is actually to build dashboards for our production support team to be able to have a high-, mid-, and low-level view of that technology estate. The applications we monitor are financial services applications, treasury specifically.

Pros and Cons

  • "The Netprobe is so lightweight compared to the agents that most monitoring tools use. It's really superior to the competition. The agent that is used by almost every competitive tool takes a lot more system resources. It's slower and it requires a greater effort and more compromises in terms of security to install on the monitored servers. With Geneos, because it lives outside the code, it is far easier and far less taxing on the monitored systems."
  • "One thing that could be improved in terms of rapid scaling would be more ability to clone aspects of an implementation. It seems like there are opportunities in this area, where we have repetitive tasks to do when it comes to implementing things on new servers or on new gateways. It would be great if there was an easy way to clone something that had already been done."

What other advice do I have?

One of the really distinguishing and good things about ITRS is that it is a small company and they are extremely helpful. They have been extraordinary to work with in every respect: true customer service and a genuine care about the customer, which is not what I normally find from monitoring-tool vendors. It's a tremendous tool and the company is so easy to work with that even if you just want to try it out or see what it can do for you, they make it very easy to do that in a no-risk situation.
Sanchit Pathak
System Analyst at a financial services firm with 5,001-10,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
Jun 10, 2020
Provides multiple integrations so that we can report alerts from other applications on the dashboard

What is our primary use case?

We are using Geneos for basic monitoring, like process, logs, database monitoring, etc. In terms of the applications we monitor with Geneos, they are the basics, like load processes for getting the data, parsing it, and loading into the database. We have a processor running 12 to 14 hours a day and we have to monitor the data we are getting, the FIX (financial information exchange) messages. We are parsing to see whether everything went fine or not. Then, if we are loading it into a database, we are checking the counts to confirm that whatever is in the FIX messages is getting loaded.

Pros and Cons

  • "One thing we're utilizing in Geneos is the Gateway-SQL. That's really helpful for us. Using Gateway-SQL, we are able to merge two different views into one. Suppose we have to check something in the log and that we have to check something in the database and do a comparison before publishing a result. We can achieve that using Gateway-SQL."
  • "I would really like to see something from the Geneos side to set up automated reporting from ITRS. We have to send reporting to management every day. To do that we have to check the dashboard and then we have to report whether everything is fine or not. In the future, I want something, some reporting kind of feature in ITRS, where it can collect all the data and mention what is green, what is amber, what is red in a report."

What other advice do I have?

We are not the team that's monitoring the real-time data. We have a different team that set up the Geneos for that. We are really relying on Geneos for everyday tasks. All the monitoring is in Geneos and we are going to continue using it. We are pretty happy with Geneos and I would rate it at the higher end, a nine out of 10.
reviewer1502316
IT Support Specialist at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Feb 11, 2021
Dashboards show end-to-end application flow and any alerts at the moment, giving us a management-level view of the underlying data

What is our primary use case?

We use it for application monitoring, monitoring of our business applications to provide our support teams with alerts around the problems and events that may be occurring within the apps. We're a financial company and we monitor applications for trade entry, trade management, risk, and order flow. It's used for any application that's being used in the tradeflow stack.

Pros and Cons

  • "The biggest benefit of Geneos is the fact that we can clearly see, if we have an alert, where that alert has come from. We can see the data around that alert and anything that might be relevant is also shown. We can very easily right-click and see why we've received that alert. That's the best part about it, that you've got all the data there with the alerting."
  • "One area where there is room for improvement is the log file. I would like to be able to do a pre-run on the log files. When you are testing log files for regular expressions, it would be good to be able to do a quick check up front on that side of things before you release that into production."

What other advice do I have?

The configuration can be very flexible, which is great when you're trying to do something, but it means that if you're just starting out, there is more than one way to do something. Take professional advice, use the ITRS website, understand how everything fits together first, and then proceed. Try to get a consistent configuration design across all of your applications. A lesson learned from using Geneos would be to get buy-in from the people who are the users of Geneos. Get them onboard nice and early. Get them familiar with the tool. It does take time to understand how the tool works, so…
SeniorPrc25d
User at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Mar 10, 2019
Enables our operations to configure monitoring themselves, to react to an issue they've seen

What is our primary use case?

We use it for application monitoring.

Pros and Cons

  • "One of the most valuable features is that it can be configured by non-developers. It doesn't require development expertise to configure it."
  • "The ITA, the post-incident analytics, could be improved."

What other advice do I have?

It would be sensible to use experienced staff. Although I say you can get up and running with little or zero experience, and then go on the journey yourself, if you want to get up and running quicker, then use experienced staff. It's not essential, you don't have to, but if you have a choice... I don't necessarily mean experienced in terms of the product itself, Geneos. Use staff that has higher experience in production support and in seeing problems first-hand. They're the ones who will know what to set up and monitor. Use someone who has real-world experience in seeing what those problems…
Manel Achour
ASP Administrator at FIS
Real User
Top 10
Oct 11, 2020
Offers a critical, secure, and regulated environment that gives us information about the health of our systems

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is to monitor services and networking. We monitor applications like the processor, CRM, and next-gen Gateway which is a Windows service.

Pros and Cons

  • "It's also easy to implement. The implementation of Geneos is very easy and interesting. It's not complicated. It's very quick to implement. The installation is very easy. There are many topics about ITRS Geneos that explain more about the features of the function of Geneos."
  • "There is a part of the rules for monitoring alerts. I want to understand more about how to choose the samples and the requirements for the rules. That is the part that I want to understand better and get better training for."

What other advice do I have?

If you want a critical, secure, and regulated environment and to do powerful and flexible rules, you should choose Geneos. I would rate Geneos an eight and a half out of ten. Not a ten because when the Gateway was very overloaded it was very hard to monitor the alerts, especially for the product services. The situation would be very critical. Otherwise, it's a very good, excellent tool.
Buyer's Guide
Download our free ITRS Geneos Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.