Cohesity DataProtect Overview

Cohesity DataProtect is the #4 ranked solution in our list of best Backup and Recovery Software. It is most often compared to Rubrik: Cohesity DataProtect vs Rubrik

What is Cohesity DataProtect?

Distributed scale-out platform: Replace individual storage appliances with a web-scale platform. Ensure high-availability, pay as you grow by scaling performance and capacity linearly, and eliminate expensive forklift upgrades.

Hyperconverged nodes: Bring compute to your data instead of moving copies of data to the compute. Run secondary data workflows including data protection, test / dev and analytics directly on the Cohesity platform. Accelerate IO performance with SSD caching.

Support for backups, files and test / dev copies: Consolidate your secondary data on the Cohesity platform with support for NFS and SMB interfaces. Consolidate backups, files, and test / dev copies.

Cohesity DataProtect is also known as Cohesity.

Cohesity DataProtect Buyer's Guide

Download the Cohesity DataProtect Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

Cohesity DataProtect Customers

Tribune Media

Cohesity DataProtect Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Cohesity DataProtect pricing:
  • "I expect the system to probably pay off within the first two years."
  • "With respect to pricing, make sure that you look at both Rubrik and Cohesity as they are very similar and are quite competitive."
  • "Pricing, setup costs, etc. are pretty typical. The initial cost for Cohesity was less than other products the we evaluated. Cohesity's pricing does offer benefits as DR target costs are less than other solutions. You are not charged for DataProtect licensing for target DR data consumption."
  • "Sizing is important and it is easy to overestimate."

Cohesity DataProtect Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer1081776
Systems Engineer/Systems Administrator at a government with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 5
Dec 23, 2020
Simplifies data protection by eliminating legacy backup silos

What is our primary use case?

We use two versions — one version is deployed on the cloud, the other version is on-premise. We use Cohesity with Windows Servers, SQL, Microsoft SQL Servers as well as Hyper-V, AHV and VMware VMs. I am the primary backup operator. There are two to three people that assist me.

Pros and Cons

  • "The ability to essentially instantly recover a VM and have it run on the Cohesity Platform while all those bits are technically being recovered in the background is useful to us."
  • "I'd like to be able to pause a backup while it's running and have it resume when I tell it to resume."

What other advice do I have?

Overall, it's a good product when it works — don't hesitate to go with it, just make sure you get a good implementation engineer from Cohesity that can answer all your questions. Be sure to ask questions every step of the way. They also have a pretty decent training program; I've gone through a few of their training courses and those are useful. Definitely, I would recommend that anybody that's putting it in for the first time, definitely attend a couple of their all-day, six to eight-hour-long courses, and take some of their administrator-type courses. Overall, once we worked through some of…
reviewer1280316
Sr. Infrastructure Specialist at a energy/utilities company with 201-500 employees
Real User
Top 10
Feb 10, 2020
Easy to use with an impressive GUI, good search capabilities, and good support

What is our primary use case?

We are primarily using Cohesity for Backup and Recovery (and compliance). We can use it for "basic" disaster recovery, but we are looking to implement CloudSpin and a cloud Cohesity node in Azure for replication and to bring our DR to the next level. This will allow us to collapse our secondary/DR datacentre, retire aging hardware (avoiding maintenance costs and/or new equipment costs), and move to a cloud disaster recovery solution. Our old backup and recovery solution was much too big for our organization, whereas Cohesity is powerful and simple!

Pros and Cons

  • "Cohesity is extremely easy to use and intuitive."
  • "We have Oracle databases running on Linux servers in our environment and we have found the Oracle backups were quite complex to setup."

What other advice do I have?

My advice is to set up a Proof of Concept with Cohesity. They are more than accommodating and basically treat you like a licensed customer. Any issues you do encounter get fixed during a PoC, so make sure to document them well because it makes the production implementation of Cohesity dead simple. Just try it ... and be prepared to like it. Make sure to have a set list of scenarios to test.
Learn what your peers think about Cohesity DataProtect. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: February 2021.
464,369 professionals have used our research since 2012.
reviewer1276815
Network Administration Supervisor at a insurance company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Feb 1, 2020
Easy to use, improves efficiency, has good support, and saves us time and money

What is our primary use case?

We have two primary use cases. The first was a replacement for magnetic tape backups via Backup Exec. We were tired of continually handling physical tapes, the increasingly long backup windows, and the cost of all of the tape infrastructure. We are backing up about 20TB of data between VMware and legacy NAS appliances. Our second use case was a replacement for a legacy IBM/NetApp device and a legacy NETGEAR NAS. Both devices were substantially older with no inline compression or dedupe. We were running out of space at a time when we knew that modern storage features such as compression and… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The restores are easy to do and have made it so that we can incorporate restores into our troubleshooting processes."
  • "We would love to see direct compatibility with HPE Simplivity, which we also leverage."

What other advice do I have?

We have been very happy with Cohesity and it has solved several major problems for us. At the same time, they are aggressively adding and further refining features. We are now backing up our O365 email via Cohesity, which is something we didn't even know it could do when we purchased it. They really are developing a great platform for unstructured data and backups.
Jay Stelmach
Adjunct Professor at Southern New Hampshire University
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jan 31, 2020
Rapid VM restores, elastic search, reliability, and good support set this solution apart

What is our primary use case?

We use Cohesity for backup and recovery primarily, though we are starting to look into it for file service as well. We perform on-premises backups of Exchange, SQL, SharePoint, VDI Golden Images, and a host of Windows Servers and Linux Appliances. We test the restores weekly with file-based restores. The product makes this surprisingly easy to search for folders and files. The elastic search puts Cohesity above the competition. We will be leveraging the long term retention to the cloud later this year, but with the level of support that we receive from Cohesity, we don't anticipate any issues.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable features are the rapid VM restores and the ability to quickly find files and download them directly to my desktop so that I can put them where I need them to be."
  • "The error handling could be improved."

What other advice do I have?

Cohesity's elastic search gives it a leg up on Rubrik.
StewartSJ3
Network Engineer at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Aug 5, 2020
Has enabled us to not only backup more of our data at faster speeds, but also recover that data quicker

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use Cohesity as our backup solution, however, we are leveraging Views to replace our MS Cluster file shares. We run these in 2 separate clusters. We are backing up 600+ VMs, multiple file shares, and leveraging other pieces, such as Kroll for Exchange, to recover our data quicker. With Views, we currently have what were once FileShares stored in an MS Cluster leveraging the speed and protection of Cohesity. We are also using Insight and Spotlight from the Marketplace to gain further insights into unusual file activity and audit trails.

Pros and Cons

  • "The ease of use and the GUI have really been most valuable to us. Configuring the system to do what we need is simple and straight forward and a lot of guesswork has been removed. One of my favorite features with Cohesity is Kroll for Exchange item-level recovery. The software is simple to use and fast."
  • "The product is still young and is continually improving. There have been a couple of buggy releases in the software that have caused us minor issues, so possibly some better QA before releasing would prove to be useful. We have also been inquiring about new app and functionality via the Marketplace that was teased months back but has yet to come to fruition."

What other advice do I have?

If you're on the fence about moving to Cohesity, I suggest making the jump. We have been amazed at what we've been able to accomplish with it in such a short time.
Adam Badorrek
Project Manager in Strategic Resource Management at a retailer with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 10
Apr 20, 2020
Reliable backup solution with a friendly, logical backup/restore infrastructure

What is our primary use case?

Our experience with the Cohesity DataProtect Platform has been overwhelmingly positive as we been able to manage our 500+ VMs and physical servers with only a few backup policies. Backups: VMs are currently being added to jobs automatically through tagging. But, we also manually add VMs to jobs at times as we need to split up the load of VMs to multiple backup jobs. We try to keep a ratio of 15 VMs to 1 job. After getting a Cohesity Agent on a SQL server and syncing it with Cohesity, it is simple to set a backup/retention schedule for Log, Incremental, and Full backups based on policy. We… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The product is easy to put in place. All backups are done very quickly. It's easy to perform restores. What I prefer in the product is its simplicity. There are no useless settings to define, and everything is ready after the initial setup."
  • "Cohesity cluster upgrades have not been as easy as a single button click. They are a manual process that requires upgrading each node into a cluster individually."
JohnBowling
IT Manager - Storage & Backup at a healthcare company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Sep 8, 2020
Its web-scale architecture enables us to scale up as needed

What is our primary use case?

Primary Use: PoC to test and evaluate DPS solutions with production workloads. Overall, the use case is to evaluate solutions in a multi-petabyte environment with more than 100 remote sites. The majority of the environment supports more than 5,000 VMs (VMware ESX) and several physical systems. The key criteria is the support of more than 100 remote sites connected together over slow WAN links with limited bandwidth. Image-level backups, Windows, Linux, SQL, Oracle, etc. are all key. This environment is primarily focused on traditional on-prem applications with an eye towards leveraging public… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "Cohesity's web-scale architecture enables us to scale up as needed."
  • "The one area where we would like to see additional improvements is with reporting. There are very granular reports from each grid. There are also some built-in reports within Helios (SAS Management Console) that offers basic reporting. However, for complex, large-enterprise environments, a more robust reporting engine that supports detailed audit reporting and enhanced ad hoc reports would be welcome."

What other advice do I have?

Overall, it is an easy to use, flexible backup solution.
Roberto Sciaccaluga
Team Leader at Leonardo
Real User
Top 10
Feb 3, 2020
An all-in-one package that consolidated and simplified our backup solution

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is as a backup solution. We also use Cohesity for cloud enabling and seconday storage. With respect to backup, our environment is based on virtual and physical machines, and Cohesity fits great. The virtual machines are based on VMware 6.5/Nutanix solution with vCenter. Cohesity can handle up to 2,000 virtual machines with a classic schdule of one backup per day. CBT works great so it is an incremental forever solution. For our physical system, we use agents for AIX, Windows from 2003 to 2016, SUSE, and RHEL. The application backups handle SAP, SAP HANA, Oracle, and SQL… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "After linking a cloud subscription, like Azure for example (AWS and Google are also supported), you can "spin" a VM onto the cloud from any backup snapshot."
  • "The GUI is in need of improvement."

What other advice do I have?

Cohesity can replicate backups to a secondary cluster (also virtual edition).
See 8 more Cohesity DataProtect Reviews
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Cohesity DataProtect Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.