Marketo Overview

Marketo is the #2 ranked solution in our list of top Marketing Automation tools. It is most often compared to Salesforce Marketing Cloud: Marketo vs Salesforce Marketing Cloud

What is Marketo?

Marketo is an all-in-one marketing solution that was created by marketers for marketers. Founded in 2007, Marketo is branded as marketing software that is easy, powerful and complete.

Organizations have access to multiple marketing and sales tools when they use this solution, such as Marketing Automation, Consumer Engagement Marketing, Real-Time Personalization, and Marketing Management.

Buyer's Guide

Download the Marketing Automation Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: April 2021

Marketo Customers

Marketo has a customer base of thousands of companies, including Sony, Citrix, BrightTALK, Curves International, HootSuite, Hyundai, SanDisk, and Samsung Electronics.

Marketo Video

Filter Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
it_user264924
Marketing Campaign Manager with 51-200 employees
Real User
Jul 17, 2017
The ability to build and automate complex scenarios is valuable.
it_user670116
Growth Strategies and Demand Generation Consultant at a marketing services firm with self employed
Vendor
Jun 30, 2017
I like the integration with Salesforce. I would like to see attribution reporting.

What is most valuable?

I like the integration with Salesforce.

How has it helped my organization?

We have a better alignment of sales and marketing. It allows me to do things in Salesforce without an admin.

What needs improvement?

Speed to sync if you have lots of leads Attribution reporting

For how long have I used the solution?

We have been using this solution for six years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

In terms of stability, it takes longer to sync with Salesforce than it should at times.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

In terms of scalability, the more leads you have, the longer it takes to sync with Salesforce.

How are customer service and technical support?

I would give technical support a rating of 5/10. …
Find out what your peers are saying about Adobe, Salesforce, SAP and others in Marketing Automation. Updated: April 2021.
476,892 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user188523
Marketing at Kenes Group
Vendor
Jun 21, 2017
Allows us to build marketing flows that send automated emails based on user actions.
it_user479847
Marketing Campaign Manager at a tech vendor with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
Jan 10, 2017
Enables the use of templated landing pages and emails to make it easy to create messages and landing pages. The available analytics are sub-par.

How has it helped my organization?

Great ease of use creation for campaigns. Marketo enables the use of templated landing pages and emails to make it easy to create messages and landing pages.

What needs improvement?

The available analytics are sub-par.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

No.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No.

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service: This is where Marketo falls short. Their customer service is awful. Technical Support: OK>

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Yes. Switched with a new company.

How was the initial setup?

Straightforward.

What about the implementation team?

In-house and vendor.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Yes.…
it_user239700
Head of Marketing at a tech vendor with 51-200 employees
Vendor
May 15, 2015
I like the email drip campaigns. It could be easier to set up and manage.

What is most valuable?

Email drip campaigns

How has it helped my organization?

Automated customer outreach from sign up to upgrade

What needs improvement?

Easier to create/modify graphic driven templates Need automatic 404 reporting for links included in content

For how long have I used the solution?

5 years

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

Takes time to setup and manage

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

None

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

None

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service: 8 out of 10 Technical Support: 8 out of 10

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Manual solution with Constant Contact - easier to manage multiple campaigns in…
it_user2838
Marketing at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Mar 8, 2013
Extensive integration w/ 3rd party tools makes Marketo really stand out.

What other advice do I have?

Overall - I am very pleased with Marketo for email automation and lead management. I recommend it as a tool but don't disregard the initial training they offer to new users. Not all features are intuitive and training sessions point you in the right direction.
it_user4029
Marketing at a tech company with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
Jan 28, 2013
Advanced capabilities for closed-loop lead management, but needs a better UI and integration with marketing resource management

Valuable Features:

- Relative ease of use - Advanced capabilities for closed-loop lead management - SFDC sync

Room for Improvement:

- Can be more than what you really need - Wish it had a better user interface - Needs integration with marketing resource management
it_user585
Director of Operations at a tech vendor with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
Sep 24, 2012
The metrics and reports are what marketing people want

What other advice do I have?

This is the best marketing automation solution out there, for the ease of use, the amazing metrics, the integration to SFDC, and the price.
it_user600
CSO at a computer software company with 51-200 employees
Vendor
May 8, 2012
Marketing Automation that lives in Sales force

What other advice do I have?

Use case that would be extremely relevant for a Marketo Deployment: Interested parties submit information requests. They are stored into Marketo, based on what actions they take (how long they spent on the site, looked at these white papers, etc). They will then get follow-on emails to help qualify the opportunity. Once they respond, and certain criteria is met, the system will pass the lead off to a Sales rep, significantly cutting down on higher touch "pre-qualified" communication.
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Marketing Automation Report and find out what your peers are saying about Adobe, Salesforce, SAP, and more!
Quick Links