SharePoint Overview

SharePoint is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Web Content Management tools. It is most often compared to WordPress: SharePoint vs WordPress

What is SharePoint?

SharePoint is a Microsoft-based platform for building web applications. It covers a widerange of capabilities and while it is appropriate for experienced webdevelopers, even non-technical minded users can easily navigate through thesystem and execute functions such as collaborating data, managing documents andfiles, creating websites, managing social networking solutions, and automatingworkflow.

Major areas that SharePoint deals with are websites,communities, content, search, insights, and composites. The purpose is to give usersthe ability to create or develop these key business components on their owneven without technical knowledge of, for example, how to build a website or howto integrate coding. Configuring SharePoint into a business's system is meantto cut out all of the complicated steps, and pave the way for easierimplementation all around.

SharePoint is also known as SharePoint 2007, SharePoint 2010.

SharePoint Buyer's Guide

Download the SharePoint Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: March 2021

SharePoint Customers

Toyota, Aeroports de Paris, ASBBank Ltd., Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals, CambridgeshireConstabulary, D&M Group, NPL Construction Company, and The Regional Municipality of Niagara.

SharePoint Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about SharePoint pricing:
  • "For this type of solution, it is not wise to buy it without Software Assurance."

SharePoint Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Toby Ward
President at Prescient Digital Media
Consultant
Top 5Leaderboard
Dec 14, 2020
Plan, plan, plan. Over-budget.
There are in fact two versions of SharePoint: the on-premises version, SharePoint 2019, and SharePoint Online, which comes bundled in Office 365 (the Cloud). Though those with Office 365 automatically have the latest features in SharePoint Online; those with on-premises SharePoint, have to wait for the next release to get the latest and greatest. SharePoint’s greatest strength is it’s an all-in-one approach – it’s a portal, a content management system, a search engine, a social collaboration platform, a web development platform, and so much more. Its greatest weakness is that it’s an all-in-one solution – everything and the kitchen sink; a jack-of-all-trades, a master of none. Some argue that SharePoint is a “mile wide, but a foot deep.” It offers so much, but some features are seen as…
Toby Ward
President at Prescient Digital Media
Consultant
Top 5Leaderboard
Aug 31, 2020
SharePoint for Intranets
SharePoint is appreciated for its simplicity of use out-of-the-box, though derided for problems (and the expenses) customizing the user experience (design, navigation and information architecture). SharePoint is replete with functionality and applications, and is the most comprehensive intranet development platform on the market. It is, unfortunately, expensive, and most of the feature set that we use, and that our clients use, fall short of expectations, and often below best-of-breed. SharePoint isn’t a niche product that is supposed to be superb at web content management, or social networking; it’s a broad solution, one that has something for everybody; a solution that can please some, but not all. SharePoint’s greatest strength is that it’s an all-in-one solution – it’s a portal, a…
Learn what your peers think about SharePoint. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: March 2021.
474,595 professionals have used our research since 2012.
MichaelSoliman
Owner at Alopex ONE UG
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
May 26, 2019
Good for optimizing business processes in organizations of any size

What is our primary use case?

I have been consulting with this solution, combined with SQL server, since 2005. The majority of my consulting at that time changed from Active Directory and C++ to SQL Server and SharePoint.

Pros and Cons

  • "For any organization with more than one person in it, if they are trying to organize things to let people in the company know what others are doing, then this solution is good for them."
  • "I would like a simpler, more cost-effective solution for connecting data sources with workflows and BI tools, or data mining tools."

What other advice do I have?

My advice for anyone implementing this solution is to first try everything that you want to do in a virtual environment, with people who know how SharePoint is programmed. You need to understand the psychology of business users because most of them omit essential steps when they are creating the business process model. They are used to doing things in their head, but the machine is not aware of everything that they know so some steps are missed. Ideally, you want to buy a bunch of post-it notes and test your processes manually, by playing with different scenarios. You have to tune the business…
Toby Ward
President at Prescient Digital Media
Consultant
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 5, 2020
The SharePoint Intranet – Pros and Cons
SharePoint has conquered the enterprise intranet. Although the conquest is never as bloody nor expensive as more invasive conquests, such as the Mongols under Genghis Khan, intranet citizens are not always thrilled by the new system and structure under Gates Khan. SharePoint is present in 80% of the Fortune 100; and plays a prominent intranet role in about 70% of knowledge worker intranets (either powering the main intranet portal, or delivering associated collaboration sites and/or document repositories). This in spite of its history. SharePoint 2007 was a dog; SharePoint 2010 was a dressed-up dog; but SharePoint 2013 represented a leap forward to a more user-friendly, true web platform. SharePoint 2016 saw improvements, but perhaps the most significant advances have come in the…
Cesar Danecke
Information Technology Supervisor at PUCPR
Real User
Top 10Leaderboard
Feb 13, 2020
Enables us to share information more securely

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is for file sharing. SharePoint is implemented in our environment for files and user sharing. We also use it for simultaneous editions.

Pros and Cons

  • "The online editing capabilities, file sharing, auditing, information security, ease of solution management, and the easy user adaptation to the platform are the most valuable features."
  • "The way to change the version of the files in SharePoint should be improved. The method of synchronizing files from local to cloud can also use improvement."

What other advice do I have?

Compared with other products, SharePoint is very good. We do not have other products that are as good as SharePoint. SharePoint is definitely richer in features with functionality which helps us to get our work done. I would rate SharePoint a 10 out of 10. The solution is integrated with the entire Microsoft platform, from e-mail to Azure computing, so the solution as a whole is easy to manage and has a central administration that facilitates the view of the entire environment.
CR
Cecil Rupp
User at Command Results, LLC.
Real User
Top 20
Aug 10, 2019
Supports us in software development projects and integrates well with Microsoft Project

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for supporting software development programs and projects.

Pros and Cons

  • "This solution has helped us with the categorization, organization, management, discovery, and delivery of program and project related information."
  • "This solution would benefit from the implementation of enhanced online forms and template development capabilities."

What other advice do I have?

No
Mordhi Alenazi
Business Application Development Manager at NWC
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jun 8, 2020
Good collaboration and sharing but the workflow engine cannot support business needs

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use cases are for * Central repository for document integrated with a core application. * The integration through web service with Oracle ERP and Oracle CCB * In addition, we use SharePoint two build a library for different projects for collaboration and sharing propose.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable features are the collaboration and sharing."
  • "The workflow engine cannot support the business needs."
EW
Eric Wyatt
IT Director / CIO at Matanuska-Sustina Borough
Real User
Top 10Leaderboard
Oct 3, 2019
Integrates well to improve access, coordination, and collaboration

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for intranet, extranet, web site, content management, collaboration, integrations, eCommerce, inventory, portfolio, project, and process management.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable features are the Integrations, web site, and search."
  • "The areas of this solution that need improvement are the relationships between lists, cross-site web parts, and page-building tools."